Monument

The Mendelssohn Monument

Mendelssohn Monument in Leipzig

On 26 May 1892, 24 years after the committee in charge of the monument in honour of the composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy had been founded and 45 years after his early death, the monument could be inaugurated. The bronze monument was situated on the east side of the old Gewandhaus music hall in Leipzig and had been created after drafts by Werner Stein.

At the end of the 19th century the skillful monument was living proof of a high historico-cultural value and an appreciation of the musical genius of Mendelssohn Bartholdy and of his merits to the world of music.

During the Nazi period the Mendelssohn monument was torn down on 9 November 1936, as Mendelssohn was considered a Jew and therefore – according to Mayor Haake, a national socialist, could “not be displayed as an exponent for a German city of music”. It is not known what happened to the monument.

In 2003 the then mayor of Leipzig, Wolfgang Tiefensee, and the honorary conductor of the Gewandhaus orchestra, Prof Kurt Masur, agreed to rebuild the Mendelssohn monument. With the help of a generous donation by Dr Wolfgang Jentzsch, the reconstruction of the monument started.

The reconstructed Mendelssohn monument is located in the heart of the city, on Dittrichring, just across from St Thomas Church. The Monument was inaugurated on 18 October 2008.

Dedication of the Mendelssohn Monument on 18 October 2008

On a plinth which is 4 m high and made of granite there is a bronze statue of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, about 3 m of height. On the steps of the monument sits the muse of music, with two cherubs making music and singing on each side. On the plinth you can read the inscription “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” on the front and “Edles nur künde die Sprache der Töne” (May the language of music only tell of noble things) on the back. On the sides two medallions symbolise church music and secular music.

Mendelssohn Monument next to St Thomas Church at night

Denkmal

Das Mendelssohn-Denkmal

Mendelssohn-Denkmal in Leipzig

Am 26. Mai 1892, vierundzwanzig Jahre nach der Gründung eines Denkmal-Komitees zu Ehren des Komponisten Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy und 45 Jahre nach dessen frühem Tod, wurde in Leipzig das nach Entwürfen von Werner Stein geschaffene Bronzedenkmal an der Ostseite des alten Gewandhauses im Musikviertel eingeweiht.

Das Denkmal stand in seiner Aussage und in seinem hohen kulturhistorischen Wert als Zeugnis großer bildhauerischer Kunst am Ausgang des 19. Jahrhunderts und würdigte den genialen Musiker Mendelssohn Bartholdy und dessen Leistungen für das Musikleben.

In nationalsozialistischer Zeit wurde das Mendelssohn-Denkmal am 9. November 1936 abgerissen, da Mendelssohn Bartholdy als Jude galt und — so der NSDAP-Bürgermeister Haake — „als solcher nicht als Exponent einer deutschen Musikstadt heraus gestellt werden“ könne. Der Verbleib des Denkmals ist unbekannt.

Ausgehend von einer Vereinbarung aus dem Jahr 2003 zwischen dem damaligen Oberbürgermeister Wolfgang Tiefensee und dem Ehrendirigenten des Gewandhausorchesters Prof. Kurt Masur, wurde die Wiedererrichtung des Mendelssohn-Denkmals beschlossen. Mit einer großzügigen Spende des Mäzens Dr. Wolfgang Jentzsch begann die Realisierung der Wiedererrichtung des Denkmals.

Der neue Standort des rekonstruierten Mendelssohn-Denkmals befindet sich im Herzen der Stadt am Dittrichring vis à vis der Thomaskirche. Das Denkmal wurde am 18. Oktober 2008 eingeweiht.

Einweihung des Denkmals am 18. Oktober 2008

Auf einem 4 m hohen Granitsockel steht eine ca. 3 m hohe Bronzestatue von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Auf den Stufen des Denkmals sitzt die Muse der Musik, an den Seiten gruppieren sich je zwei musizierende und singende Putten. Der Sockel trägt auf der Vorderseite die Inschrift „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ und auf der Rückseite die Inschrift „Edles nur künde die Sprache der Töne“. An den Seiten symbolisieren Medaillons die kirchliche und weltliche Musik.

Mendelssohn-Denkmal an der Leipziger Thomaskirche bei Nacht